Dave Mustaine of Megadeth is an Underrated Lead Guitarist

Dave Mustaine, May 2007

Dave Mustaine, May 2007 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Over Megadeth’s career, they’ve had a handful of lead guitarists who’ve received varying degrees of praise, but I’ve always felt, and still do, that Dave Mustaine is the best of them. As the band leader, spokesman, main songwriter, lyricist, singer, guitarist, and troublemaker, his lead guitar playing is often overlooked in favor of the second guy, with whom he splits shredding duties. It’s an unfair side effect of his versatility, but make no mistake, the man not only keeps pace with them, but does better solos.

Why better? I find his solos more musical.  After all, he’s a songwriter, and it shows. Guys who can’t write songs have solos that don’t sound like songs either.  The best solos usually sound like a song within a song.

Dave’s leads also sound more emotional to me and connected to the song, whereas several others I won’t name sound like they’re doing exercises they practiced, or canned licks they’ve been trying to find somewhere to put. That makes solos sound artificial and, well, not real.

And Dave Mustaine has always been real, whether in a good way or not. The guy is genuine to the bone. It’s part of his appeal.

Dave’s style changes slightly to go with whoever else is playing lead in the band.  He still sounds like Dave, but how many players can (or will) do that?  He’s kept up with guys with better chops, like Marty Friedman or Chris Broderick, obviously practicing more than before and showing the results. Sometimes I’m surprised by it.

But he surprised me the most when I saw him live about 5 years ago and couldn’t believe his playing. I’ve never seen anyone shred like that in person, not even Yngwie Malmsteen, Steve Vai, or Joe Satriani. I kept thinking, “Holy crap!”

Before you think I’m a huge Mustaine fan, I’m actually not. He wouldn’t even make my top ten list of guitarists, lead or otherwise. But I still know damn good when I hear it, and I think his solos are great more often than anyone else who’s played lead guitar in Megadeth.

"Keeping Pace" video

My video for “Keeping Pace” from NOW WEAPONIZED!

Follow Me

Official Site: http://www.randyellefson.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/randyellefson
Facebook (as guitarist): https://www.facebook.com/pages/Randy-Ellefson-Guitarist
FaceBook (as author): www.facebook.com/RandyEllefsonAuthor
YouTube: www.youtube.com/RandyEllefson

4 thoughts on “Dave Mustaine of Megadeth is an Underrated Lead Guitarist

  1. RobOwen

    One thing I’ve always liked about Dave’s playing was how real it sounds and always has. He, for the most part, has retained his signature thrash style/tone and his unique song writing ability. I just bought the megadeth dvd “that one night: live in Buenos Aires”, from 2011, and I was impressed by how original Dave still sounded (if you get what I mean). He’s not my favorite either but I’ve learned a lot about playing guitar from him over the years. Cheers, Randy, good article.

    Reply
    1. randyellefson Post author

      Thanks for the comment

      Yeah Dave doesn’t sound at all fake or like he’s trying to do something that’s B.S. (overly thought out or too technical). I should check out that video.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

